Author Topic: New grower  (Read 8003 times)

Offline timbo

• View Profile
New grower
« on: July 15, 2013, 10:50:49 PM »
Hi , I'm new to ginseng. I've been an outdoorsman my whole life. Hunting ,trapping , you name it. I have never hunted or heard of hunting ginseng ! Any way I got Pritts book and read it cover to cover several times and have been looking for wild half heartedly. No time. I have a small patch of woods on my property with maple cherry and some ash. I also have a large pile of wood/ leaf compost. Its pretty much like potting soil. My question is would it be a good idea to spread this material to increase the depth of the forest loam. These trees aren't super old. It was a brushy field 20 years ago. I have a couple big mama trees that are about 3' through that I was think of planting first around them. Not much light gets through under them. Also was thinking of seeding some wild ginseng soil in these beds for fungal and micro nutrient boost. I relize this could introduce problems but seems to me the benefits out way risks. Any thoughts? also could you supply some root earth with an order Brad?

Offline Brad

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: New grower
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2013, 11:48:17 PM »
Hi Timbo,

Welcome to the forum.

I don't think you will have to add anything to your soil for the most part.  I"ve grown ginseng beside my porch in town using cinimon ferns for shade.  As long as the soil is loose and drains well, you should be in business. 

That said, you can certainly increase the charcter of ginseng planted in beds with the addition of peat and leaf mold.  You might also want to do a soil test to see if there is anything else you should be worried about, but the most common thing will be low calcium which you can add directly when planting with pelletized gypsum.  2000-3000 pounds per acre is not bad for ginseng.  Very high generally, but good for ginseng.